Kio Kreations’ Blog

for the love of flowers & art

An Eye-Catching Orchid January 29, 2009

Filed under: Fine Art,Flowers — kiokreations @ 11:54 am
Tags: , , , ,

I just completed another work of art and had to share it! Inspired yet again by one of my sister’s photographs, I rendered this orchid with water droplets in colored pencil on bristol board, 11″ x 14″ in size. It shows up a little more purple than it really is (its more pink in person)…but it still looks great on here. I cannot wait to mat and frame it. I think I have the means to do so already available in our basement! I love when that happens!

All in all, I think I spent about 12 hours on this piece. I used my Berol Prismacolor colored pencils including the much desired BLENDING one, which I pretty much wore down to a nub. {Note to self: buy new blending pencil!!}  I am planning to go to Blick Art Supply today to get some more supplies for some other side projects I have going on so I will add that to the list. 

Here is the final, framed version of the piece below (you can see it is way more pink that the scanned one above):

 

Orchid in Colored Pencil by Kristen Janes

Orchid in Colored Pencil by Kristen Janes

 

One Response to “An Eye-Catching Orchid”

  1. Lori W. Says:

    Love this Kristen


Leave a Reply

