Kio Kreations’ Blog

for the love of flowers & art

Revamped Bathrooms that Rock! March 22, 2009

powder-room2They always say that a can of paint can make a big difference…Well, whoever “they” are, they were right!!!  I recently revamped our downstairs powder room in a grayish blue that we love and did a loosely “Door County” theme.  There are only earthy neutrals in the room, from the rich wood tones to the soft browns and hues of tan and taupe.  In addition to paint, items I bought for the room include frame to put around the existing mirror, a 3-D frame for 6 photos, a leather-covered box for magazines, blue accent towels and a new garbage can.  We were gifted a fabulous rug for the space, and everything else I already had.  This included the vertical mirror, small picture frame with curvy mats, branches and urn, alabaster pillar/column, antique bottles, tan and ivory towels, shells and beach glass from Lake Michigan, and smooth river rocks.  All of the photos displayed were taken by either me or my sister, Amy.  The giant painting in the room is a print of a painting of Rock Island in Door County, WI that I did my senior year of college.  It remains one of my favorite paintings I have ever done!  🙂  In addition to painting this room the beautiful blue, I added blue as an accent wall in our living room as well.  It really looks great.  Now we just need to save up for some crown moulding!  

guestbath

I also painted and our guest bathroom a lively yellowish green color.  It looks awesome in the space.  The color was inspired by a candle I already had.  I brought the candle with to Home Depot and just matched it to a swatch.  Originally this room was a muted grayish purple that the previous owner had chosen.  It was livable, but not “us”.  Knowing I wanted to make some changes to the guest bath this year, I registered us for new bath accessories including a sleek white toothbrush holder, trash can, tissue box cover and soap holder.  I also registered for a black shower curtain and black and white towels.  We got all of these items and they fit perfectly in the space.  I added accessories that I already had like the candle, reed diffuser, soap, antique green glass floral design frogs, hanging shower caddy, and my vintage-looking shower hooks and “sundries” container with “Wash” hook in it.  The B&W with a punch of bright yellowish-green is awesome, energetic and modern.  The perfect finishing touch to the room is a brilliant photo that my sister took of Aloe matted and framed in a black gallery frame.  It’s perfect and we totally love it!

After over two years of living with someone else’s taste, it is good to have some rooms in our house that reflect US! My next project will be to paint our master bathroom charcoal gray.  We already got new bath accessories and towels from our gift registry for this room as well and I had already bought new rugs, shower curtain and additional towels in anticipation of this makeover.  I think I will get to the painting of it this coming week.  The only things in my way is a lot of sanding and cleaning before painting can begin.  The walls need to be sanded down as the previous owner did vertical stripes of tan and darker tan is a very sloppy way.  Her taping off lines are really raised and obvious, she painted the room in 2 kinds of paint (eggshell and satin) so there are variations in shininess, etc.  Its a big old mess basically.  So I’ve already started to razor-off the raised paint seams and now I have to sand and then sweep everything up with the shop vac.  Fun stuff.  I will post pictures when it’s all done.  The color inspiration for our master bath came from the flooring in there.  The tile has shades of warm and cool grays in it so I’d like to take that into the walls and accessories.  

When I finally get to our actual Master bedroom, I’d like to extend the color palette into our room by using a warm lighter gray on the bulk of the walls with 2 accent walls of raspberry behind the bed and in the alcove.  The color combination in the master will be a warm light gray, chocolate brown and raspberry.  The colors work perfectly together and will be accented with our birch-colored furniture and white headboard with accents of pewter/silver throughout.  I am excited about getting to the master bedroom, but the ceilings are peaked and it is going to require scaffolding so I am not in a rush to get it done.  Maybe by the end of the summer…(yeah right!)

 

Leave a Reply

