Kio Kreations’ Blog

for the love of flowers & art

A Delicious Modern-Vintage Color Palette April 17, 2009

modern-vintage-rhonda

 

I recently met with a new client, Rhonda, who I totally love! Her wedding style is “Modern Vintage” and the colors she chose are quite literally delicious: plum, eggplant, cream and chocolate. Rhonda’s vintage touches include some delicate ostrich plume accents scattered throughout the wedding as hair accents, boutonnieres and of course, in the bouquet in am designing for her. We are going with a mixed look with a surround of wispy feathers around the brim of the bouquet.  I will also be doing some lovely “wrist band” florals for the Mothers and Grandmothers. “Wrist Bands” are the NEW wrist corsages! They combine ribbons and lush floral and function more like a bracelet and less like a cliche prom wrist corsage. Rhonda will be DIY-ing some fabulous plumage boutonnieres for the men in the wedding and we practiced making them the day we met with brown floral tape and some feathers I just happened to have in my basement-o-floral design supplies. The quick mock-up we did looked great and I am sure when she makes them with actual ostrich feathers they will be just stunning. She also mentioned her bridesmaids are carrying feather boas and I think they are incorporating feathers into the centerpieces as well.

On a side note: The “feather bouquet collar” effect I am doing for Rhonda’s bouquet is a VERY European look and as we designers know, with fashion and design (including floral design), Europe is usually at least a year or 2 ahead of us! I can happily report that I have been getting more Brides on board with some of the Euro trends as well, from the slightly dangly “simple dangle of flowers” bouquets to the clustered, textured look for bouquets and centerpieces. I love being on the cusp of trend (at least here in the U.S.) and holding my own with the looks the higher-end floral shops in the city currently implement.  

Anyways, back to Rhonda’s delicious color palette–I absolutely love these tones for her early December wedding and cannot wait to see how it all comes together. I think it will be so classy, chic and maybe just a little bit yummy too!

 

4 Responses to “A Delicious Modern-Vintage Color Palette”

  1. Lisa Says:

    I love these colors! Just beautiful!

  2. Rhonda Says:

    thanks! I heart you as well, and am glad to be working with someone who is as excited about the colors/theme as I am! =)

  3. Stephanie Bulger Says:

    I love this delicious euro color palate and design, tres chic!!

  4. Kenya Says:

    Yay Rhonda!!


Leave a Reply

